Terms of Service Privacy Policy Contact Us


The Boot Process

    GUI Boot process: Start up scripts are in /etc/init.d. The script that runs depends on the run level. Run levels are:

    • 0 - system halt - the computer will power off immediately when this run level is reached
    • 1 - single user or troubleshooting mode
    • 2 thru 5 - normal/multi-user modes (2 is the default)
    • 6 - reboot the system

    The system will go into a run level S when it is in between run levels

    Each run level has a corresponding directory under the /etc directory.

    • /etc/rc0.d - run level 0
    • /etc/rc1.d - run level 1
    • /etc/rc2.d - run level 2
    • /etc/rc3.d - run level 3
    • /etc/rc4.d - run level 4
    • /etc/rc5.d - run level 5
    • /etc/rc6.d - run level 6

    The files in each of these folders are symbolic links to corresponding files in the etc/init.d directory and controls the starting or stopping of a program of service (deamon). To add a starup script use update rc.d

    The links in theses folders are named systematically. The Names begin with a letter S for start or K for Kill followed by a number. The number is to ensure the propper order of execution. The last part of the file name is the corresponding file name int the etc/init.d folder. All K file are run first in thier numeric order, followed by all S files.

    CREATED 2012-11-17 03:28:21.0


    UPDATED 2012-11-17 03:28:25.0


    Page Server: Ithica

    DBID: db.wam

    ©2012 Leistware Data Systems

        Hello anonymous